We are currently experiencing technical difficulties with weather forecasts. We are sorry for any inconvenience.

CV Yrjö Viisanen

Yrjö Viisanen

Title Director, Research and Development

Contact yrjo.viisanen@fmi.fi

Postal address P.O. Bocx 503, FIN-00101 HELSINKI

Street address Erik Palménin aukio 1, 00560 HELSINKI

Phone number +358 50 336 6919

Fields of expertise

  • Research Director of the Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI), 2004-
  • Research Professor of FMI, 1999-
  • Docent University of Eastern Finland, 1997-
  • Docent University of Helsinki, 1994-
  • FMI, Director of the Air Quality Research Department 2002-2003
  • FMI, Research Manager 1996-1999
  • FMI, Senior Scientist 1994-1995
  • Max-Planck institute (Göttingen), post-doc 1992-1993
  • FMI, Scientist 1986-1991
  • University of Vienna Department of Experimental Physics, visiting Ph.D. student (6 months), 1990
  • Max-Planck institute (Göttingen), visiting Ph.D. student (6 months) 1990

University and other degrees

  • University of Helsinki, Finland: M.Sc. 1988; Ph.D. 1991(Physics);
  • Helsinki school of economics, Management education program JOKO ® 64, 2002;
  • Management education program (Tulevaisuuden johtajat 7 –ohjelma HAUS), 2015

List of publications

Over 108 original research papers; 2 of which in Nature and 2 in Science.

List of publications

Awards, honors, and major stipendiary support

Award for the excellent work in the aerosol science at 1995 by the Finnish Association for Aerosol Research; The Austrian Academy of Sciences 4 exchange grants (total 6 months), 1988-; DEUTSCHER AKADEMISCHER AUSTAUSCH DIENST (DAAD) grant (3 months), 1990; The Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic 2 exchange grants (total 4 weeks), 1996-

Other Academic and Professional Activities

Member of the Finnish National Committee of Arctic and Antarctic Research, 2005-

Member of the Steering Committee of the Kumpula Space Center, 2006-

Member of the Steering Body of the European Monitoring and Evaluation Programme (EMEP), 2007-

Member of the Board of Physical Department of the University of Helsinki, 2007-

Member of the Advisory Committee of Environmental Science (WMO OPAG/EPAC), 2007-

Member of the Advisory Board of the Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE), 2008-2013

Member of Council of the European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT), 2012-2014

Member of the Advisory Board of the Finnish Space Committee, 2013-

Member of the Finnish National Committee of World Climate Research Programme (WCRP), 2014-