The Advisory Board of the Finnish Meteorological Institute

  • Chair: Professor Mari Walls, President of Tampere University

  • Vice Chair: Director of Unit Miikka Rainiala, Ministry of Transport and Communications*

Other members:

  • Chancellor Kaarle Hämeri, University of Helsinki

  • CEO Raine Luojus, Air Navigation Services Finland Oy

  • Research Director Tanja Suni, Ministry of the Environment*

  • Director Jarno Ilme, Finnish Transport and Communications Agency Traficom*

  • CEO Tero Kiviniemi, Destia*

  • Director Jouko Jokinen, Finnish Broadcasting Company (YLE)

  • Under-Secretary of State Petri Peltonen, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment

  • Brigadier General Pasi Välimäki, Finnish Defence Forces**

  • Director General Jussi Kaurola, Finnish Meteorological Institute***

  • Account Manager Kari Österberg, Finnish Meteorological Institute (personnel representative)

  • Executive Assistant to FMI's director general, Joanna Saarinen (secretary of the advisory board)

*as of 15.3.2019

**as of 19.8.2019

***as of 1.6.2020