CV Juhani Damski

Juhani Damski

Title Director General, Finnish Meteorological Institute


Postal address Finnish Meteorological Institute, P.O. Box 503, FI-00101 HELSINKI

Street address Erik Palménin aukio 1, FI-00560 Helsinki

Previous professional appointments

  • Director of the Development Unit, Ministry of Transport and Communications, October 2013–December 2015
  • Director of Weather and Safety, and Deputy Director General, Finnish Meteorological Institute, 2008–2013
  • Head of Unit, Meteorological Research, Finnish Meteorological Institute, 2004–2007
  • Head of Group, Ozone and UV Radiation Research, Finnish Meteorological Institute, 2002–2004
  • Several expert positions at the Finnish Meteorological institute since 1986

List of publications

International positions of trust

  • Chair of the NORDMET Council, 1 January 2016 –
  • WMO – World Meteorological Organization (a UN organisation)
    • Finland's permanent representative in WMO, 1 January 2016–
    • Member of the Executive Council's Panel of Experts on Polar Observations, Research and Services, and vice-chair of the Services working group, 2010–2013
    • Member of the WMO/EC Working Group on Antarctic Meteorology, World Meteorological Organization, 1998–2003
  • European Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF)
    • Vice-President of the ECMWF Council, 2016–
    • Chair of the Policy advisory committee, 2011–2014
    • Member of the Technical advisory committee, 2008–2010
  • Vice-chair of the International Ice Charting Working Group (IICWG), 2011–2013
  • Member of the NORDMET Steering Committee (NOSC), 2008–2013
  • Chair of the NORDMET/NOSC/Nordic Ozone Group, 1996–2002

Positions of trust in Finland 

  • Member of the Arctic Advisory Board in Finland, 1 January 2016–
  • Board member at Suomen Turvallisuusverkko Oy, 2 March 2015 –
  • Board member at the National Energy Supply Agency, 20 January 2014–31 December 2015
  • Member of the Scientific Advisory Board for defence (MATINE), 27 August 2014–31 December 2018
  • Member of the advisory council for the government security network project (TUVE), 22 January 2014–31 December 2015
  • Member of the Government Information Security Management Board, 1 January 2014–31 December 2015
  • Member of the government working group for the coordination of research, foresight and assessment activities (TEA working group), Term: 23 May 2014–31.12.2015
  • Member of the working group for preparing digitalisation projects, 1 August 2015–31 December 2015
  • Member of the coordination group for information management (TIETOKEKO),  May 2015–, Term: 1 July 2013–31 December 2015